Elders & Deacons

Elders & Deacons

As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament Church provided persons with particular gifts to share in governing and ministry. Elders are chosen by the people. Together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, they exercise leadership, government, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of aparticular church as well as the church at large, including ecumenical relationships.

Elders: Dottie Arnett, Hugh Bright, Kathryn Callaway, Dan Cauble, Meg Counts, Meg Crawford, Scott Daniel, Elise Denneny, Martha Dolinak, Cynthia Foster, Dan Gaubas, Taylor Hamilton, Jim Harrison, Paul Harrison, Joe Huie, Lee Hyde, Donna Kedrow, Sarah King, Megan Landers, Bill Linam, Harriet Miller, Jim Mitchell, Matt Reed, Margaret Ritchie, Hanley Roach, Beth Stechi, and Joey White.

The Session consists of the pastor, associate pastor(s), and the elders in active service.

The office of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, of exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, warm sympathies, and sound judgment should be chosenfor this office. It is the duty of deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyondthe community of faith. They shall assume such other duties as may be delegated to themfrom time to time by the session, such as leading the people in worship through prayers ofintercession, reading the Scriptures, presenting the gifts of the people, and assisting with the Lord’s Supper.

Deacons: Chandra Becker, Cory Beilharz, Andy Cheadle, Susan Dickey, Meghan Diddle, Clay Dye, Joe Elmore, Mike Foy, Carole Galyon, Sandy Gillespie, Rosemary Gilliam, Lauren Hall, Cathy Henry, Frances Higdon, Jim Kirksey, Kent Keobke, Deborah Lewis, Louise Lindsay, Jerome Melson, Paige Moncier, Dorothy Moseley, Christin Myers, Martha Perry, David Reistenberg, Debby Thurmond, and Sheila White.